Morgagni Prizes

The G. B. Morgagni Prizes were instituted in 1984 by a group of postdoctoral researchers working at the Medical School of the University of Padua (Italy). Named in honor of Giovanni Battista Morgagni, the Italian anatomist called the founder of anatomical pathology (1682-1771), the prizes were set up to promote research in the field of metabolism.

Servier has been the sole sponsor of the Awards Program since 1997.

The prizes are given every 2 years for outstanding scientific achievements and consist of:

  • one Morgagni Gold Medal awarded to a senior scientist (€20 000),
  • and two Morgagni Silver Medals awarded to young investigators (€8000 each).

Every April in the year of the prize, an international panel of prominent experts evaluates the candidates’ qualifications, curriculum vitae, and scientific publications.

The Awards Ceremony takes place in October and is held at an international symposium.

In 2014, the winners were Hans-Henrik Parving (Copenhagen, Denmark) for the Gold Medal, and Patrick Collombat (Nice, France) and Anna Gloyn (Oxford, United Kingdom) for the Young Investigators Awards.

In 2016, the Gold Medal will be awarded to Jaakko Tuomilehto (Helsinki, Finland), while the Young Investigator Awards will be presented to M. Loredana Marcovecchio (Chieti, Italy) and Jakob Wikström (Stockholm, Sweden) during the Morgagni Prizes Symposium organized by G. Crepaldi, on October 28, 2016, in Padua.